Groundbreaking Asian Cricket Awards – C4C Legacy Partner

Cricket for Change has been officially announced as ‘Legacy Partner’ of the Talk Home Mobile Asian Cricket Awards. The launch (on 28th March 2014) event was hosted at Lord’s Cricket Ground saw the big hitters of the cricket world in attendance.

Former England cricketers, Isa Guha, Vikram Solanki, Wasim Khan MBE and Min Patel were joined by members of the prestigious judging panel, including Baroness Warsi and the CEO of Grange Hotels, Tony Matharu.

Alasdair Ramsay, Communications Manager said, “Cricket for Change is immensely proud to have been chosen as ‘Legacy Partner’ for such a groundbreaking initiative. We are excitedly looking forward to helping make great strides in seeing how we can support and develop the passion of cricket within the south Asian cricketing community”.

Online nominations will open on May 1, from which the winners will be chosen by a diverse panel of judges, ranging from former players to Baroness Warsi, who was in attendance at the launch.

Isa Guha, former England international cricketer and ambassador for the awards, spoke of the importance of the inclusion of the Women in Cricket Award. “I think it’s really important if you are trying to create equality by supporting Asian communities that there is a female award,” she said. “Cricket is a religion in south Asian countries and you’ll often see families who are playing the park – the sisters, the mums they’re all getting involved and they love the game just as much as the men do.”

A total of 12 honours will be presented at Lords on October 7 2014, including a Grassroots Award, Woman in Cricket Award, Coach of the Year prize and Professional Player of the Year Award.

Baljit Rihal Co-Founder of the Asian Cricket Awards said, “The Asian Cricket Awards were devised to acknowledge the huge contribution that South Asians make to all aspects of this wonderful sport and as such, this is the first ever event dedicated to celebrating their involvement.”

To find out more about The Asian Cricket Awards go to: